Annex 2

The Report

A Review of the Current Safeguarding Policies, Procedures and Practice within the Catholic Church in Scotland

The McLellan Commission published its Report on 18th August and has made eight key recommendations to Scotland's Catholic Bishops to improve the current standards of safeguarding within the Catholic Church.

Download e-book
EPUB for most e-reader devices and apps
MOBI for Amazon Kindle

Download PDF

< Back  Contents  Forward >

Annex 2

Glossary of terms used

Abuser: A person who abuses another either sexually, physically or emotionally.

Awareness and Safety: This document provides a set of policies and procedures for those who have a responsibility for the protection of children, young people and vulnerable adults in the life of the Catholic Church in Scotland.

Bishop: A senior member of the clergy appointed to head a diocese.

Bishops' Conference of Scotland: This body enables the Catholic Bishops in Scotland to work together, undertaking nationwide initiatives through their Commissions and Agencies. The members of the Bishops' Conference are the Bishops of the eight Scottish Dioceses.

Canon Law: The laws, rules and regulations of the Catholic Church.

Catholic Bishops' Conference of England and Wales (CBCEW): This is the permanent assembly of Catholic Bishops and Personal Ordinaries in the two member Countries. The members are the Archbishops, Bishops and Auxiliary Bishops of the 22 Dioceses in England and Wales.

Church: For the sake of simplicity the Church is referred to throughout the Report as "the Catholic Church in Scotland", "the Catholic Church", or "the Church".

Conference of Religious in Scotland: This body represents the different Roman Catholic religious orders, congregations and societies in Scotland.

Cumberlege Commission ("Safeguarding with Confidence"): This Commission was set up in 2006 to review the way the Catholic Church in England and Wales protects children and vulnerable adults from abuse. It reported in 2007.

Diocese: A district for which a Bishop is responsible.

Diocesan Safeguarding Audit: These audits give a statistical breakdown of reported safeguarding allegations during the year. The statistics show how many allegations were reported in the year, the category of the incident, the category of the alleged perpetrator and the outcome of any investigation.

Holy See: The Pope in his role as Bishop of Rome. In this role the Holy See is the jurisdiction in Rome of the Catholic Church.

National Catholic Safeguarding Commission in England and Wales (NCSC): The NCSC was created in 2008 following the acceptance, by the Bishops' Conference of England and Wales and the Conference of Religious of England and Wales, of the recommendations in the Cumberlege Report "Safeguarding with Confidence" (see above).

National Confidential Forum: This was set up under the "Victims and Witnesses (Scotland) Act 2014". The Forum is about understanding and acknowledging childhood experiences in institutional care in Scotland, wherever they were. Individuals can tell members of the Forum about their experiences, including any abuse they suffered, how it was dealt with at the time and what effect these experiences have had.

Paramountcy Principle: The welfare of the child is the primary concern.

Parish: A small administrative district with its own church and clergy under the jurisdiction of a priest.

Restorative Justice: Restorative Justice enables victims to meet or communicate with their offender to explain the real impact of crime. It can be used anywhere to prevent conflict, build relationships and repair harm by enabling people to communicate effectively and positively.

Sacro (Safeguarding Communities-Reducing Reoffending): Sacro is an organisation which aims to promote community safety across Scotland through providing high-quality services to reduce conflict and offending.

Safeguarding: There is no complete agreement in Scotland about the use of this term, so for the purpose of this report we use the term to refer to the protection of children and people at risk in the Catholic Church.

Seal of Confession: This is the absolute duty of priests not to disclose anything that they learn from penitents during the course of the Sacrament of Penance (commonly called "Confession").

Survivor: Someone who has experienced harm or abuse whether sexually, physically or emotionally, and has survived this abuse. It is thought that this term might be more empowering than "victim" (see also "Victim").

Victim: Someone who has experienced harm or abuse whether sexually, physically or emotionally. For some the term 'victim' suggests that they are defined and restricted by the experience (see also "Survivor").

Virtual Office: A business address and call answering service as an alternative to full office rental.

< Back  Contents  Forward >